Dakshinayana Punya Kala – 16July12

Hare Srinivasa,

The auspicious Chaturmasa has already started and we have the Dakshinayana arambha(Karkataka Sankramana) on 16-July-12. As per Mantralayam Rayar Mutt Panchanga, the Dakshinayana Parva Punya kala is from 08:45 AM to Surya Astamana time on this day.

Uttarayana or Dakshinayana comprising of six months each is the time taken by the Sun to travel from one house to the other during these periods. Starting from Makara (Capricorn) up to Mithuna (Gemini), the travel of Sun is called as Uttarayana and starting from Karkataka (Cancer) up to Dhanus (Sagittarius) it is known as Dakshinayana. As you know that Dakshina means South direction and Aayana means travel or movement. So accordingly the movement of Sun in the Southern direction is called as Dakshinayana. The time when the Sun leaves Mithuna Raasi (Gemini) and enters Karkataka Raasi (Cancer) is called as Karkataka Sankramana when the period of Uttarayana ends and Dakshinayana begins.

Spiritually the most auspicious period for performing austerities and rituals called Chaturmaasa (Sravana to Karthika Masa) falls during the period of Dakshinayana. These four months are said to be very dear and pleasing to Lord Sri Maha Vishnu when He enters into Yoga Nidra (Divine slumber) on Aashada Sukla Ekadasi day called Deva Sayani or Hari Sayani Ekadasi. He gets up from Yoga Nidra on Kartheeka Sukla Dwadasi day called Uttana Dwadasi. Thus, when the Lord SriManN arayana is in yoga-nidra it is befitting to set aside mundane activities and participate in special religious pursuits.

Majority of the major Hindu festivals like Naga Chaturthi, Vara Maha Lakshmi Vratha, Upakarma (Sravana Pournima), Sri Krishnashtami, Sri Ganesha Chaturthi, Rishi Panchami, Sri Anantha Chaturdasi, SharanNavarathri (Devi Navarathri), Vijayadasami, Deepavali occurs during Dakshinayana.

The period of Dakshinayana also coincides with Pitru Paksha the sacred time to perform sacred rites to the forefathers. It is believed and said that Uttarayana represents Devathas and Dakshinayana represents Pithrus. It is also said that Uttarayana is the day time and Dakshinayana is the night time for devathas. Dakshinayana is also called as Pitrayana. It is said and believed that Pitrus descend on Earth during the period of Dakshinayana awaiting their off-springs to perform sacred rites enabling them to attain better placement in the other worlds. Hence, lot of significance is given during this period for performing Pitru related activities.

Generally during any parva kala sacred bath, prayer, japa, charity, and tarpana to forefathers are prescribed. Worshiping Sri Vishnu, Sri Krishna, Sun God, and reciting Vishnu Sahasranama Stotra, Purusha Sooktha, Hari Vayustuthi, Aaditya Hridayam on this day is preferred. Sun transit takes place every month but all transits are not considered as sacred ones. It is only when the transit coincides with the confluence or sandhi of two periods’ viz. Uttarayana and Dakshinayana it is known as Parva Kala and accordingly that particular moment becomes very sacred and celestial for performing certain austerities.

|| Sri Krishnarpanamastu ||


3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by g ravichandran on July 15, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    time and again you are good in providing useful,elaborate and informative things here

    good ,thanks


  2. Posted by KRISHNA on July 16, 2012 at 6:56 am



  3. Posted by Murthy Rao on July 17, 2013 at 3:08 am

    Highly pleased to see such type of articles. Please continue such services. Thanks


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: